Untitled Imaginary Society Forum

We’re delighted to be collaborating with Untitled to curate and host the Untitled Imaginary Society Forum.

We assume that our current capacity to imagine better societies is limited and keeps us from being in control of the deep societal transformation we are in. The Imaginary Society Forum is a monthly online space to exercise our social imaginations in practice and in theory and find inspiration with others who want to do the same. Each online meeting includes a talk from a guest speaker and opportunities for group discussions with fellow participants. If you prefer, you are welcome to attend only the talk from the guest speaker at the beginning of the evening.

Next Imaginary Society meetup

03/09/2020 VestAndPage: Changing the Gaze: Moving beyond anthropocentric imaginaries

1,5 hours starting at 8 am PDT | 10 am CDT | 11 am EDT | 4 pm BST | 5 pm CEST  | 6 pm EET (HKI) | 12 am JST | 3 pm UTC

About VestandPage

Verena Stenke and Andrea Pagnes have been working together as VestAndPage for over a decade, and gained international recognition for their work in performance art, performance-based film, writing, and publishing. Their work moves between the unseen and the unforeseen, the unsaid, the forgotten, and the repressed; it has involved collective performance operas, and the creation of temporary artistic communities. They will remind us that to imagine differently is to see, listen, and relate differently. At the convergence of multiple crises, how can we change our gaze to imagine a different future?

https://untitled.community/events/imaginary-society/

Previous guest speakers

Gabriella Gómez-Mont

Gabriella Gómez-Mont is a filmmaker, journalist and multi-disciplinary artist as well as Director and Founder of ‘Laboratorio Para la Ciudad,’ an experimental think-tank fostering citizen participation and innovation in Mexico City: https://labcd.mx/

Professor Geoff Mulgan

Geoff Mulgan is Professor of Collective Intelligence at UCL and was previously the Chief Executive of the innovation foundation Nesta. You can view his talk from the Imaginary Society Forum below and read his blog post about the vital importance of social imagination here: https://www.geoffmulgan.com/post/social-imagination